Institutional Animal Ethics Committee (IAEC)

Institutional Animal Ethics Committee (IAEC) reviews both small and large animal research protocols. IAEC approves only small animal protocols and forward large animal protocols to CCSEA for further discussion and decision, with its recommendation.

IAEC, SGPGIMS convenes mandatory two meetings in a year in which new protocols, progress of previously approved protocols are reviewed. IAEC also inspect and suggest for optimal functioning of Animal House Facility.

IAEC has total 9 members of which 5 internal (institutional) members and 4 members nominated by CCSEA. Current committee members are as follows:

SGPGIMS Institutional and CPCSEA Nominated Members

Dr.Alok Kumar

Chairman/Nodal Officer, Animal House, SGPGIMS, Lucknow

Dr.Atul KumarBaranwal

Member secretary/ Veterinarian, Animal House,SGPGIMS, Lucknow


Member/ Scientist from different biological discipline, SGPGIMS, Lucknow

Dr.ArunKumar Srivastava

Member/ Scientist from different biological discipline, SGPGIMS, Lucknow

Dr. Chandra PrakashChaturvedi

Member/ Biological Scientist, SGPGIMS, Lucknow


Main Nominee/Department of Animal Husbandry, Govt. of UP, Lucknow


Link Nominee/Dept. of Respiratory Medicine,King George Medical University, Lucknow

DrDhirendra Singh

Scientist from outside the institute/Animal House Facility, CSIR- Indian Institute of Toxicological Research, Lucknow

ShriAshutosh Kumar Yadav

Socially aware nominee/Department of Pharmacology, Hygia Institute of Pharmaceutical Education & Research, Lucknow