

Raebareli Road, Lucknow www.sgpgims.org.in

#### 3.4.1 Code of ethics & Details of Members of Ethical Committee

The institute carry out its research activities as per the ethical guidelines as per national and international norms. Following are the ethics committees the Institute have to review research proposals:

1. Institute Ethics Committee: SGPGI constituted its first Ethics Committee in 1988. The Institutional Ethics Committee (IEC) is accredited by National Accreditation Board for Hospitals & Healthcare Providers (NABH) and has been awarded NABH accreditation. SGPGIMS is one of the few Institute in the country and the only center in UP to get this accreditation. SGPGIMS, IEC performs as per the National guidelines and the Drug and Clinical Trials Rules of the Govt. of India. All the research proposal involving the human patients or human samples has to be reviewed by the IEC and only after the approval of the IEC the research work can be initiated. The present IEC committee is as follows.

S. No.	Name	Designation	Roles and involvement
1.	Prof. M. K. Mitra	Retd. Professor, Dept. of Medicine, KGMU, Lucknow	Chairperson
2.	Prof. S. P. Ambesh	Dean, Sanjay Gandhi Postgraduate Institute of Medical Sciences, Lucknow	Ex-Officio Member, (Clinician)
3.	Dr. Gautam Palit	Former Chief Scientist and Head, Dept. of Pharmacology, CSIR, Lucknow	Member (Pharmacologist)
4.	Dr. Arun Chaturvedi	Retd. Head, Dept. of Oncology, KGMU, Lucknow	Member (Clinician)
5.	Dr. Mala Kumar	Professor, Department of Pediatric, KGMU, Lucknow	Member (Clinician)
6.	Dr. Uday C. Ghoshal	Prof. & Head, Department of Gastroenterology, SGPGI MS, Lucknow	Member (Clinician)
7.	Dr. Vinita Agarwal	Professor, Department of Pathology, SGPGIMS, Lucklnow	Member (Clinician - Pathologist)
8.	Prof. Anand Vishwakarma	Professor of Law and Director Legal Cell, University of Lucknow	Member (Legal expert)

Lt Col Varun Bajpai VSM
Executive Registrar



# Raebareli Road, Lucknow www.sgpgims.org.in

9.	Shri. Vijai Varma	Former District Judge & Chairman Upbhokta Forum, Lucknow	Member (Legal expert)
10.	Ms. Shalini Mathur	Secretary, Suraksha NGO, Lucknow	Member (Lay Person)
11.	Shri Sharad Jain	Shri Madhav Seva Ashram, Lucknow	Member (Lay Person)
12.	Dr. Manuka	Prof. Department of Sociology,	Member (Social
	Khanna	University of Lucknow	Scientist)
13.	Mr. Anil Kumar	Retd. Professor, Department of	Member (Social
	Srivastava	Sociology, University of Lucknow	Scientist)
14.	Dr. Shagun Mishra	Additional Professor, Department of	Alternate Member
		Radiotherapy, SGPGIMS, Lucknow	Secretary (Clinician -
			Oncologist)
15.	Dr. Durga P. Misra	Additional Professor, Department of	Member Secretary
		Clinical Immunology	(Clinician)

2. Institutional Animal Ethics Committee (IAEC): The institute has a well-maintained animal house facility for sustaining and maintaining the small animals used preclinical studies. All the research project involving animal studies are reviewed by the Institutional Animal Ethics Committee. The IAEC of Sanjay Gandhi Post Graduate Institute of Medical Sciences is registered with Committee for the Purpose of Control and Supervision of Experiments on Animals (CPCSEA), a statuary body under the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Act 1960. IAEC reviews both small and large animal research protocols. IAEC approves only small animal protocols and forward large animal protocols to CPCSEA for approval, with its recommendation. Special emphasis is put on to use the animal judicially. IAEC, SGPGIMS convenes mandatory two meetings in a year in which new protocols, progress of previously approved protocols is reviewed. IAEC also inspect and suggest for optimal functioning of Animal House Facility. IAEC has 5 internal institutional members and 4 members nominated by CPCSEA, Govt. of India. Current committee members are as follows:

S. No.	Name of the IAEC Members	Designation in IAEC	
1.	Dr. Alok Kumar	Scientist In-charge of Animal House Facility, Chairperson	
2.	Dr. Atul Kumar Baranwal	Veterinarian, Member Secretary	
3.	Dr. Arun Kumar Sruivastava	Scientist from different biological discipline	
4.	Dr. Aftab Hasan Nazar	Scientist from different biological discipline	

Lt Col Varun Bajpai VSM
Executive Registrar



# Raebareli Road, Lucknow www.sgpgims.org.in

5.	Dr. C. P. Chaturvedi	Biological Scientist
6.	Dr. Neelam Bala	Main Nominee
7.	Dr. Kanchan Srivastava	Link Nominee
8.	Dr. Dhirendra Singh	Scientist from outside the Institute
9.	Shri Ashutosh Kumar Yadav	Socially Aware Nominee

3: For the evaluation of Stem Cell Research related project the institute has the Institute Committee for Stem Cell Research (IC-SCR) constituted as per the national guidelines of DBT and ICMR, Government of India. The Committee functions and review all research proposal that involve use of human stem cells derived from any sources.

S.	Name	Affiliation	Roles
No.			
1.	Dr. Chandishwar Nath	Retd. Chief Scientist, Division of Toxicology, CSIR-CDRI, Lucknow	Chairperson and Ethics Expert
2.	Prof. Pankaj Seth	Professor, National Brain Research Centre, Manesar	Vice-Chairperson
3.	Justice S.C Verma	Retd. High Court Judge Allahabad,	Member Legal expert
4.	Justice Vijai Varma	Former District Judge & Chairman Upbhokta Forum, Lucknow	Member Legal expert
5.	Dr. Shalendra P. Verma	Additional Professor, Dept. of Hematology, KGMU	Member Clinician Hematologist
6.	Dr. D. R. Sahoo	Professor & Head, Dept. of Sociology, University of Lucknow	Member Social Scientist
7.	Prof. A. K. Srivastava	Retd., Professor, Dept. of Sociology, University of Lucknow	Member Social Scientist
8.	Prof. Jonaki Sen	Scientist, BSBE, IIT (K)	Member Stem Cell Expert
9.	Dr. Rajnish Kumar Chaturvedi	Senior Principal Scientist, Professor-CSIR, Developmental Toxicology Laboratory, CSIR- IITR	Member Stem Cell Expert
10.	Dr. Satyendra Singh	Asst. Professor, Cell/Stem Cell Lab. KGMU, Lucknow	Member Stem Cell Expert
11.	Mr. V. P. Sahi	Retd. Journalist & Advisor to Times of India, Lucknow	Member Layman

Lt Col Varun Bajpai VSM
Executive Registrar



Raebareli Road, Lucknow www.sgpgims.org.in

12.	Ms. Shalini Mathur	Secretary, Suraksha NGO,	Member
		Lucknow	Layman
13.	Dr. Khaliqur Rahman	Additional Prof., Dept. of Hematology, SGPGIMS,	Member Secretary
		Lucknow	

4. For evaluation of the work involving the use of recombinant DNA technology, genetic manipulation and work involving infectious microorganisms, the institute has constituted the **Institute Bio-safety Committee (IBSC)** as per the guidelines of RCGM, DBT Government of India. The constitution of current IBSC Committee is as follows:

S. No.	Name	Designation	Institution
1	Prof. Swasti Tiwari	Chairperson	HOD, Molecular Medicine and Biotechnology, SGPGI
2	Dr. Kishore K Srivastava	DBT Nominee	CSIR-CDRI, Lucknow
3	Dr. Arun Kumar	Outside Expert	CSIR-CDRI, Lucknow
4	Prof. Ujjala Ghoshal	Member	Dept. Of Microbiology
5	Dr. Anshika Srivastava	Member	Dept. of Medical Genetics, SGPGI
6	Dr. Atul Garg	Biosafety officer	Dept. Of Microbiology, SGPGI
7	Dr. Amit Goel	Member	Dept. of Gastroenterology
8	Dr. C. P. Chaturvedi	Member Secretary	Dept. of Hematology (SCRC), SGPGI

